About us

The Federal Returning Officer – Dr. Georg Thiel

Dr. Georg Thiel was appointed President of the Federal Statistical Office and Federal Returning Officer on 16 October 2017 with effect from 1 November 2017. He succeeded Dieter Sarreither, who retired.

It has been long-standing state practice to entrust the President of the Federal Statistical Office with the tasks of the Federal Returning Officer. As an independent electoral body, the Federal Returning Officer is responsible for holding Bundestag and European Parliament elections.

Brief curriculum vitae

Dr. Thiel was born in Cologne in 1957. After completing his legal studies and obtaining his doctor’s degree in Cologne, he joined the Federal Civil Defence Agency in 1988 where he was promoted to Head of Section. From 1997 to 2002 he headed the Division “Organization and Information Technology” and various project groups at the Federal Ministry of the Interior. Then he was President of the Federal Agency for Technical Relief.

In 2006, Dr. Thiel returned to the Federal Ministry of the Interior, where he was Deputy Head of the Directorate-General “Administrative Modernization; Administrative Organization”. There he was responsible, among other things, for geoinformation, statistics, procurement and the single government service telephone number.

From October 2015 to October 2016, Dr. Thiel was deputy head of the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees. In October 2015, he was appointed Vice-President of the Federal Statistical Office and Deputy Federal Returning Officer. Since January 2017, he has also been deputy of the Commissioner for Refugee Management.

Über uns

Der Bundeswahlleiter – Dr. Georg Thiel

Dr. Georg Thiel wurde am 16. Oktober 2017 mit Wirkung zum 1. November 2017 zum Präsidenten des Statistischen Bundesamtes berufen und zum Bundes­wahlleiter ernannt. Er folgt damit auf Dieter Sarreither, der sich in den Ruhestand verabschiedet.

Mit dem Amt des Bundeswahlleiters wird nach ständiger Staatspraxis der Präsident des Statistischen Bundesamtes betraut. Der Bundeswahlleiter ist als unabhängiges Wahlorgan für die Durchführung von Bundestags- und Europawahlen verantwortlich.

Vita

Dr. Thiel wurde 1957 in Köln geboren. Nach Studium und Promotion der Rechts­wissenschaften in Köln trat er 1988 in das Bundesamt für Zivilschutz ein und wurde dort Referats­leiter. Von 1997 bis 2002 leitete er das Referat „Organisation und Informations­technik“ und verschiedene Projekt­gruppen im Bundes­ministerium des Innern. Anschließend war er Präsident des Technischen Hilfswerks.

2006 wechselte Dr. Thiel zurück ins Bundes­ministerium des Innern, wo er als ständiger Vertreter der Abteilungs­leitung „Verwaltungs­modernisierung; Verwaltungs­organisation“ unter anderem für die Bereiche Geo­information, Statistik, Beschaffungswesen und Einheitliche Behörden­rufnummer zuständig war.

Von Oktober 2015 bis Oktober 2016 übernahm Dr. Thiel die stellvertretende Leitung des Bundesamtes für Migration und Flüchtlinge. Zum Vize­präsident des Statistischen Bundesamtes und Stellvertreter des Bundes­wahlleiters wurde er im Oktober 2015 ernannt. Seit Januar 2017 ist er zugleich Stellvertreter des Beauftragten für Flüchtlings­management.