Press release no. 25/21 of August 13, 2021

2021 Bundestag Election: order of parties on ballot papers established

WIESBADEN – The order of constituency candidates and Land lists on the ballot papers of the individual Länder has now been established for the 2021 Bundestag Election (in accordance with Section 30 (3) of the Federal Elections Act). Different candidates will stand for direct election in the 299 constituencies. Therefore, individual ballot papers are printed for each constituency.

Constituency candidates competing for first votes are listed in the left-hand column, and the Land lists of the parties for which second votes may be cast appear in the right-hand column of the ballot paper. At the top of the list, the order is determined by the parties running with Land lists. Their order in the right-hand column of the ballot paper depends on how many second votes these parties won in the respective Land in the latest Bundestag election of 2017. All other parties are listed in alphabetical order. This means that the order of parties on the ballot papers will be the same within each Land.

In the 2021 Bundestag Election, the CDU will be first on the ballot paper in thirteen Länder (Schleswig-Holstein, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Hamburg, Niedersachsen, Brandenburg, Sachsen-Anhalt, Berlin, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Hessen, Thüringen, Rheinland-Pfalz, Baden-Württemberg and Saarland), the SPD will be listed first in Bremen, the AfD in Sachsen and the CSU in Bayern.

In nine Länder the SPD will be the second party on the ballot paper (in Schleswig-Holstein, Hamburg, Niedersachsen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Hessen, Rheinland-Pfalz, Bayern, Baden-Württemberg and Saarland), in four Länder it will be the AfD (Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Brandenburg, Sachsen-Anhalt and Thüringen), in two Länder the CDU (Bremen and Sachsen-Anhalt) and in Berlin DIE LINKE.

The party DIE LINKE will be third on the ballot paper in six Länder (Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Bremen, Sachsen-Anhalt, Sachsen, Thüringen and Saarland); in three Länder either the AfD (in Hessen, Rheinland-Pfalz and Bayern) or the FDP will be listed third (in Schleswig-Holstein, Niedersachsen and Nordrhein-Westfalen), and in two Länder the SPD (Brandenburg and Berlin) as will the party DIE GRÜNEN (Hamburg and Baden-Württemberg).

In four Länder, the SPD and the FDP will be listed fourth on the ballot paper (SPD: Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Sachsen-Anhalt, Sachsen and Thüringen;  FDP: Hessen, Rheinland-Pfalz, Bayern and Baden-Württemberg), and in another three Länder it will either be the AfD (Niedersachsen, Nordrhein-Westfalen and Saarland) or DIE GRÜNEN (Schleswig-Holstein, Bremen and Berlin); in two Länder DIE LINKE will be fourth (Hamburg and Brandenburg).

The FDP will be the fifth party on the ballot paper in seven Länder (Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Hamburg, Brandenburg, Sachsen-Anhalt, Sachsen, Thüringen and Saarland), in five Länder it will be DIE GRÜNEN (Niedersachsen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Hessen, Rheinland-Pfalz and Bayern) and in four Länder the AfD (Schleswig-Holstein, Bremen, Berlin and Baden-Württemberg).

In the left-hand column of the ballot paper there are the names of the constituency candidates in the order of the Land lists. Constituency candidates of parties without Land lists and of voters’ associations as well as independent candidates admitted in the constituency concerned follow in alphabetical order.

Admitted candidates and lists appear on the ballot papers even if a party should declare that it does no longer intend to participate in the election.


Press office
tel: +49 611 75-3444