Bundestag election 2021

Election to the 20th German Bundestag

The German Bundestag is the representation of the people of the Federal Republic of Germany and, being vested with decisive legislative authority, its most important body. It is composed of representatives of the German people who are elected for four years in general, direct, free, equal and secret elections.

Election date

The date of the 2021 Bundestag Election has not been determined yet. The Federal President will presumably announce the election date at the beginning of 2021.

The Basic Law specifies the period in which a Bundestag election has to take place (Article 39 para. 1 of the Basic Law).

In accordance with that provision, new elections are held between 46 months (at the earliest) and 48 months (at the latest) after the current electoral term has begun. If the electoral term of the Bundestag is terminated early, there have to be new elections within 60 days after the decision has been taken to dissolve the Bundestag.

The electoral term of the 19th German Bundestag started on 24 October 2017 with its constituent sitting. Consequently, the date of the election will have to be within the period from Wednesday, 25 August 2021 to Sunday, 24 October 2021.

Election day has to be on a Sunday or a public holiday (Section 16 of the Federal Elections Act). As a rule, Bundestag elections should not be conducted during main holiday seasons.

Irrespective of the election date, elections to the assemblies of party delegates may, at the earliest, be held 29 months after the electoral term of the Bundestag has begun, this would be from 25 March 2020 for this Bundestag election. Candidates may be elected 32 months after the electoral term has started, this means from 25 June 2020 (Section 21 (3), third sentence, of the Federal Elections Act).

 


 

Dieses Bild zeigt Flaggen verschiedener Staaten. © Marcel Schauer - Fotolia.com / 40103765

Germans abroad

Only persons listed in a voters’ register may vote. Germans staying abroad who do not have a registered domicile in Germany are called Germans expatriate. They are not automatically entered into a voters’ register. If Germans expatriate wish to participate in Bundestag elections, they have to submit a written application for entry into the voters’ register before each election.

Bundestagswahl 2021

Wahl zum 20. Deutschen Bundestag

Der Deutsche Bundestag ist die Volksvertretung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und als maßgebliches Gesetzgebungsgremium ihr wichtigstes Organ. Er besteht aus Abgeordneten des deutschen Volkes, die in allgemeiner, unmittelbarer, freier, gleicher und geheimer Wahl auf vier Jahre gewählt werden.

Der Wahltermin

Der Wahltermin für die turnusmäßig im Jahr 2021 stattfindende Bundestagswahl steht noch nicht fest. Mit der Bekanntgabe des Wahltermins durch den Bundespräsidenten ist Anfang 2021 zu rechnen.

Das Grundgesetz gibt den Zeitrahmen vor, in dem eine Bundestagswahl stattfinden muss (Artikel 39 Absatz 1 Grundgesetz).

Danach findet eine Neuwahl frühestens 46 und spätestens 48 Monate nach dem Beginn der laufenden Wahlperiode statt. Kommt es zu einer vorzeitigen Beendigung der Wahlperiode des Bundestages, müssen vorgezogene Neuwahlen innerhalb von 60 Tagen nach der Auflösungsentscheidung stattfinden.

Die Wahlperiode des 19. Deutschen Bundestages hat mit ihrer konstituierenden Sitzung am 24. Oktober 2017 begonnen. Somit muss der Wahltermin innerhalb der Zeitspanne von Mittwoch, dem 25. August 2021 und Sonntag, dem 24. Oktober 2021 liegen.

Der Wahltag muss ein Sonntag oder gesetzlicher Feiertag sein (§ 16 Bundeswahlgesetz). Dabei wird berücksichtigt, dass die Termine für Bundestagswahlen möglichst nicht mit Hauptferienzeiten kollidieren.

Unabhängig vom Wahltermin dürfen die Wahlen für die Vertreterversammlungen frühestens 29 Monate nach dem Beginn der Wahlperiode des Bundestages stattfinden, für diese Bundestagswahl grundsätzlich ab dem 25. März 2020. Die Wahlen für die Bewerberinnen und Bewerber selbst dürfen frühestens 32 Monate nach Beginn der Wahlperiode durchgeführt werden, somit ab dem 25. Juni 2020 (§ 21 Absatz 3 Satz 3 Bundeswahlgesetz).

 


 

Dieses Bild zeigt Flaggen verschiedener Staaten. © Marcel Schauer - Fotolia.com / 40103765

Deutsche im Ausland

Wählen kann nur, wer in ein Wählerverzeichnis eingetragen ist. Deutsche im Ausland, die nicht in Deutschland gemeldet sind, bezeichnet man auch als Auslandsdeutsche. Sie werden nicht von Amts wegen in ein Wählerverzeichnis eingetragen. Wollen Auslandsdeutsche an Bundestagswahlen teilnehmen, müssen sie vor jeder Wahl einen schriftlichen Antrag auf Eintragung in das für sie zuständige Wählerverzeichnis stellen.