Bundestag election 2013

Delimitation of constituencies

The territory of the Federal Republic of Germany is subdivided into 299 constituencies. The territories of the constituencies for the elections to the 18th German Bundestag are defined in the Annex to Article 1 of the Twentieth Law amending the Federal Electoral Act (BWG) of 12 April 2012 (Federal Law Gazette I page 518) - only available in German.

The need to alter the distribution of constituencies among Länder and redraw the boundaries of individual constituencies results, among others, from the provisions of Section 3 (1), first sentence, nos. 2, 3 and 5 of the Federal Elections Act. It stipulates that the number of constituencies in the individual Länder has to correspond as far as possible to their share of the population. The population of a constituency should not deviate from the average population of all constituencies by more than 15 per cent in either direction; where the deviation is greater than 25 per cent, the boundaries have to be redrawn. The basis of these calculations is the German population. The boundaries of municipalities, districts and towns not attached to a municipal district should be adhered to where possible when constituency boundaries are defined.

Compared with the former structure, the legislator has redrawn the boundaries of 32 constituencies for the 2013 Bundestag Election. The changes are as follows:

In addition to that, many constituencies received a new number when constituency boundaries were redrawn between Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and Hessen.

Accordingly, the 299 constituencies are distributed among the 16 Länder as follows:

Land Constituency number Number of constituencies
Schleswig-Holstein 1 to 11 11
Mecklenburg-Vorpommern 12 to 17 6
Hamburg 18 to 23 6
Niedersachsen 24 to 53 30
Bremen 54 and 55 2
Brandenburg 56 to 65 10
Sachsen-Anhalt 66 to 74 9
Berlin 75 to 86 12
Nordrhein-Westfalen 87 to 150 64
Sachsen 151 to 166 16
Hessen 167 to 188 22
Thüringen 189 to 197 9
Rheinland-Pfalz 198 to 212 15
Bayern 213 to 257 45
Baden-Württemberg 258 to 295 38
Saarland 296 to 299 4

 

Map of constituencies for the elections to the 18th German Bundestag

The multi-coloured “Map of constituencies for the elections to the 18th German Bundestag“ presents the delimitation of constituencies which will be valid at the next Bundestag election. It shows the numbers and boundaries of all constituencies and their composition of administrative districts and towns not attached to an administrative district and, separately, the delimitation of constituencies of those large cities which are subdivided into several constituencies. At a price of  EUR 9.80 [D] each plus forwarding costs, the map (DIN A1, article no. 1051100-13900-1) may be ordered from

IBRo Versandservice GmbH
Bereich Statistisches Bundesamt
Kastanienweg 1
18184 Roggentin
tel: +49 38204 66543
fax: +49 38204 66919
e-mail: destatis@ibro.de

Bundestagswahl 2013

Wahlkreiseinteilung

Das Bundesgebiet ist derzeit in 299 Wahlkreise eingeteilt. Die Einteilung des Wahlgebietes in Wahlkreise für die Wahl zum 18. Deutschen Bundestag ist in der Anlage zu Artikel 1 des Zwanzigsten Gesetzes zur Änderung des Bundeswahlgesetzes (BWG) vom 12. April 2012 (BGBl. I S. 518) beschrieben.

Die Notwendigkeit der Umverteilung von Wahlkreisen zwischen den Ländern sowie der Neuabgrenzung einzelner Wahlkreise resultiert unter anderem aus der gesetzlichen Regelung des § 3 Absatz 1 Satz 1 Nummern 2, 3 und 5 BWG. Danach muss die Zahl der Wahlkreise in den einzelnen Ländern deren Bevölkerungsanteil soweit wie möglich entsprechen. Die Bevölkerungszahl eines Wahlkreises soll nicht mehr als 15 vom Hundert nach oben oder unten von der durchschnittlichen Bevölkerungszahl der Wahlkreise abweichen; beträgt die Abweichung mehr als 25 vom Hundert, ist eine Neuabgrenzung vorzunehmen. Maßgeblich hierfür ist nach den derzeit geltenden rechtlichen Bestimmungen die Zahl der deutschen Bevölkerung (hier: zum Stand 31. Dezember 2010). Für die Einteilung sollen die Grenzen der Gemeinden, Kreise und kreisfreien Städte nach Möglichkeit eingehalten werden.

Für die Bundestagswahl 2013 hat der Gesetzgeber auf der Grundlage des Gebietsstandes vom 30. September 2011 beziehungsweise in Rheinland-Pfalz vom 1. Januar 2012 gegenüber der bisherigen Wahlkreiseinteilung insgesamt 32 Wahlkreise neu abgegrenzt. Folgende Änderungen haben sich dabei ergeben:

Kommunale Gebiets- und Namensänderungen, die nach den oben genannten Stichtagen eingetreten sind und die die Abgrenzungen der Wahlkreise nicht berühren, werden rechtzeitig vor der Bundestagswahl 2013 neu beschrieben und bekannt gemacht.

Die Umverteilung von Wahlkreisen zwischen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und Hessen führt auch zu einer Änderung der fortlaufenden Nummerierung der Bundestagswahlkreise und somit bei einer Vielzahl von Wahlkreisen zu einer Änderung der Wahlkreisnummer.

Danach verteilen sich die 299 Wahlkreise auf die 16 Länder wie folgt:

Land Wahlkreis-Nr. Anzahl Wahlkreise
Schleswig-Holstein 1 bis 11 11
Mecklenburg-Vorpommern 12 bis 17 6
Hamburg 18 bis 23 6
Niedersachsen 24 bis 53 30
Bremen 54 und 55 2
Brandenburg 56 bis 65 10
Sachsen-Anhalt 66 bis 74 9
Berlin 75 bis 86 12
Nordrhein-Westfalen 87 bis 150 64
Sachsen 151 bis 166 16
Hessen 167 bis 188 22
Thüringen 189 bis 197 9
Rheinland-Pfalz 198 bis 212 15
Bayern 213 bis 257 45
Baden-Württemberg 258 bis 295 38
Saarland 296 bis 299 4

 

Karte der Wahlkreise

Die mehrfarbige „Karte der Wahlkreise für die Wahl zum 18. Deutschen Bundestag“ stellt die zur kommenden Bundestagswahl gültige Wahlkreiseinteilung dar. Sie enthält die Nummern und Grenzen sämtlicher Wahlkreise mit ihrer Zusammensetzung aus Kreisen und kreisfreien Städten. Außerdem zeigt sie die Wahlkreiseinteilung jener Großstädte, die in mehrere Wahlkreise aufgeteilt sind. Die Karte (DIN A1) kann unter der Artikelnummer 1051100-13900-1 zum Einzelpreis von EUR 9,80 [D] zuzüglich Versandkosten erworben werden bei:

IBRo Versandservice GmbH
Bereich Statistisches Bundesamt
Kastanienweg 1
18184 Roggentin
Telefon: 038204 66543
Telefax: 038204 66919
E-Mail: destatis@ibro.de